Just Like Susan | SS

A childhood friend of mine is playing the wicked Queen Prunaprismia in a beautiful, artistic production of C.S. Lewis’s Prince Caspian, done on stage at the Logos Theatre in Taylors, South Carolina. From the time I heard about her chance to be a part of this wonderful production, I wanted to go back to the South to see it. Finally I decided to do just that and maybe surprise her with my arrival. I did surprise her and went to see the show on a Tuesday morning.

I sat in the front row of the balcony’s center aisle, giving me a grand view of the entire stage. As the lights dimmed, I settled back in my chair for the telling of this wonderful story. The Chronicles of Narnia have long been favorite tales of mine.

The music, lights, and special effects were artfully and skillfully arranged to pull the audience into the story. One exchange especially touched me.

The four kings and queens of old and Trumpkin the Dwarf are trying to find their way to the place where they are most needed. Because of the unpredictable passing of time since the children were last in this magical place, the land has changed somewhat, and it isn’t long until the group is lost.

Lucy catches sight of Aslan in a moment of decision. She is the only one who sees him and tries to tell the others that the Lion is asking them to follow him.

After a lengthy discussion, they vote, with Peter the High King casting the tie-breaker in favor of the opposite direction. Lucy is disheartened but follows the others because she cannot imagine going alone. When they come up against an enemy camp and have to turn back, Aslan appears again, and he tells Lucy that she must follow him even if the others decide not to.

This time with some urging from Edmond, the group follows, until finally they all see Aslan too. There is a moment of pausing as the King breathes on them and forgives their choice to ignore their little sister.

The person who needs the strength of Aslan’s breath the most is Susan. She was angry with Lucy for changing their course and waking them in the middle of the night to follow the Lion that no one else can see. When she finally sees Aslan, she tells Lucy that she actually did believe the first time but had refused to let that belief become an action.

Her brokenness before the good Lion was what touched me, more so his response to her. He extends a rebuke to the fears that she was allowing to control her actions and words. And then he breathes on her, chasing away her fears with his fierceness and forgiving her stubborn heart with his gentleness.

On the heels of a recent glimpse into my own foolishness, sin, and shortcomings, I was moved to tears by this picture of how the Father feels toward me. My knee bent before him, head bowed in shame, my timid reluctance to admit my wrongs are swallowed up in the grandeur of who he is. It’s his forgiveness, not my sin that changes everything.

Oh that I would never lose sight of his gentle face, that my gaze on him is enough to keep me from the places where I fall hard and fast.

And perhaps it is not my gaze upon him that matters so much but his gaze on me.

His gaze compels and draws me into a life of victory, trust in him, and unwavering faith in the one who is faithful even when I am not.

Also published on thewordshakersblog.wordpress.com. Photo credit: Corentin Marzin
Leave a Reply

